MY Hines

Progress on resolutions?

Posted on: February 1, 2010

Back at the beginning of the year, I posted my partial list of resolutions – they were basically the ones about work. If you missed it, take a moment and give it some attention – Partial List of New Year Resolutions. When I wrote those, I never expected the first month of 2010 to be so – ah – what’s a kind way to say it?  Yeah, I never expected the first month of 2010 to be so bumpy!

Now, the first month is gone, I am looking to my resolutions – personally glad that these were only work resolutions and not all of my resolutions – and know that there is a lot of work to be done. But, I still have the resolutions and I’m not giving up on them yet.

  1. Progress on “Reading More Resources for Work” – I’m carrying the books around. I bought some Post-It Notes to tag important parts. But I haven’t yet to crack one of the books and actually start reading it. I think if I take the big stake of books that I’m carrying around and narrow it down to a book or two, I might be better off. It’s difficult to figure out which one I want to read first so I just have to plunge in there and make a decision. But I have gotten to a couple additional websites to read some white papers on topics like virtualization of applications and such. I think that counts towards this.
  2. Progress on “Try Positivity” – Did I meant that January has been bumpy? It is an excuse and I know it. I also know that this is one of those resolutions that will be the absolute hardest for me. It is everything against my nature. All I can say is, I’ll try it again.
  3. Progress on “Keep up with maintaining Outlook” – Now this one I feel like I can report forward progress. I have gotten very handy with holding shift while deleting email so I don’t have to delete them again from the Deleted Items. I have more folders now that are operational. More importantly, I’m demoing a HTC Touch handheld which is so different from the Blackberry, and in ways, better. Even the website for this device is easy to understand. I find it easier to keep my email organized on this thing than the Blackberry. Is this the time that I exchange my one electric leash for another? Counts on if I get it approved.
  4. Progress on “Organize My Documents” – Wasn’t there supposed to be a couple extra days off? Wasn’t all the work supposed to stop so I could clean up My Documents? Honestly, this might have been too much to have taken on in one year. Organizing Outlook and My Documents? I must have been sick with a fever and not clearly thinking when I made this one a resolution. Honestly, I know that it needs to get done and maybe I’ll take the tact of the resources – one folder at a time.
  5. Progress on “Enjoy Life Outside of Work” – This has been known as SLEEP. In the winter months, there isn’t much to enjoy on my list of things I like to do. It is impossible to chance walking in the messy weather. There still isn’t enough daylight (going to work in the dark and leaving for home in the dark indicates that still). I have found that I have plans for this month and the month after. That’s a good start for me!
  6. Progress on “Delegate” – I think I have done this one! There are some projects at work that I need items to complete. In the past, I would have just dropped my head and found the materials. That way I would know that  I was in control of meeting the deadline. I can still be in charge of meeting the deadline – but it doesn’t mean I have to do it myself. It is rough – it’s my nature to just plow ahead and do it myself. I can create the sheer effort to get it done. But you know, I can’t do 158 things in a day and delegation is becoming a bit easier. I’m no where near feeling comfortable in doing it all the time – but I can say it is starting to work for some things that are a little bit more important.

So, where do I go from here? Well, I think I’m going to pick up the Don’t Break The Chain idea and go with it a bit for some of these. I’ll report my progress!

1 Response to "Progress on resolutions?"

[…] idea of looking back on the progress of the resolutions every month. I even managed to do this on February 1, 2010. This was before Mother Nature went for the Grand Slam of weather drama and dropped over 42 inches […]

Leave a Reply

geeka507

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Archives

